328 The core of any failure culture is to repair errors

The core of any failure culture is to repair or correct errors that have occurred. This behavior also forms the core of success for teams and managers.

Success in soccer as well as success in business requires a functional failure culture, which Thomas Müller, FC Bayern Munich (FCB) popularly states: “We’re actually arguing about who’s gonna make up for the other person’s mistake”. Of course, one should not resort to arguing, and Müller is certainly referring to the willingness and the implementation competence to correct mistakes immediately or to make amends when such repairs are no longer possible.

Errors (Fig.1: A), which are at the end of a decision process, feel unpleasant. Restrictive behavior in companies is primarily the result of avoiding these unpleasant feelings. Even well-intended advice is not helpful here: “make mistakes” or “make mistakes as early or as quickly as possible”. In this case, a mistake , and its resulting emotional impulse, signals only that we should act again. Anyone who misinterprets this impulse and does not proceed to correct the effects (Fig.1: A) is already making a second mistake, which further intensifies the unpleasant effect.

KiE - Design specification of an failure culture
Figure 1: Design specification of an failure culture

Action, and even non-action (Fig.1: 2), have an effect (Fig.1: 3) that can never be completely controlled. If a “desired” effect occurs, it is declared a success; if it is missed, it becomes a failure. If someone gets hurt or a norm is exceeded, the preceding decision (fig.1: 1) counts as a failure. Mistakes are usually only an evaluation of the effect of the action like good versus bad or positive versus negative: 

  1. “good” effect = success or luck, if the effect occurs unexpectedly.
  2. “bad” effect = error or bad luck, if the personal or denied contribution is small

The effect, which is not entirely controllable, arises from the action (Fig.1: 2). However, we look more at the decision (Fig.1: 1), in which all the emotions act in the range of the dysfunctional, including fear (concern for safety) to guilt and shame (belonging achieved through performance). If mistakes are perceived (Fig.1: A), all basic emotions also act in the dysfunctional area. There is the sense that the concern for safety (fear) as well as the influence to use an advantage (anger) were missed. Something or someone has been harmed (guilt) or one has failed to measure up to the occasion (shame). A functional failure culture is oriented towards this emotional sequence: 

  1. to perceive and acknowledge the error (Fig.1 A), without ifs and buts, as something that has happened and is over.
  2. often the error can be corrected (fig.1: B), as the quote from Müller points out. If this succeeds, everything is good and only the unpleasant feelings remain, which could still be regulated. Afterwards, the individual and the entire team are again motivated and competent to act, also to correct mistakes.
  3. if the mistake cannot be corrected, “damage” has occurred. Here, after the problem has been perceived and recognized (Fig.1: A) the damage must be reduced (Fig.1: C). This must be done with the same commitment as the correction (Fig.1: B). In the example of the soccer game, the situation with the goal against Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) occurred when Thilo Kehrer (PSG) made the mistake and Kingsley Coman (FCB) headed the goal. Afterwards, the PSG players were not able to consistently implement the failure culture.

For a successful failure culture, damage that has occurred must also be managed with follow-up steps (Fig.1: D and E). The “damage” must be compensated for. Often, an “I’m sorry” or an apologetic raising of the hand is enough, which the Bavarians have shown again and again. In this way, the guilt can also be minimized with an appreciative gesture. The acknowledged good intention relieves the burden on the responsible party and underscores the successful processes behind the decision (Fig.1: 1). Of course, in formal business relationships, a different “currency” than hand raising is often common and formally necessary, but the dynamics behind the mode of representation remain the same. This process creates the desired failure culture and everyone is ready to work towards success again.

The failure culture is weakened if the discussion of the question of guilt takes place before correction (Fig.1: C before B) and compensation have occurred. The almost tumultuous skirmishes on the playing field are evidence of this; the yellow penalty cards show how bad things can be added to the bad.

Often, the first step of acknowledging the mistake does not successfully take place. This avoidance can act as a major inhibitor (Fig.1: A’), which became more and more apparent in Neymar’s behavior during the second half of our example soccer match. When things went wrong, the emotions offered to provide a solution: tears of sadness were shed. Grief is part of the experiential process that replaces the past and makes learning possible.

Failure culture in companies

In a company, rational, or at least conscious decisions are expected. In soccer, intuition (Fig.1: I) is often necessary for success, as it is in management and agile cooperation. Intuition becomes art and necessity at the same time. Regardless of whether we have made a conscious or an intuitive decision, an effect will be created (Fig.1: I, then 2 and 3). Even if we want to positively influence the effect, regardless of the way we have decided, we cannot ultimately control the outcome. This is what it means to be human and what makes up not just soccer and agile cooperation such as management but our daily lives.

In the field of tension between well-intended and “bad” effects, guilt and shame are the main factors when damage has occurred and because one wanted to do the job well. However, these are precisely the emotions in addition to grief that are not yet considered acceptable in companies.

Companies demand knowledge on why the design of the failure culture should be chosen according to the individual’s emotions because, so they argue, people also feel other impulses for their behavior: “Why should I do this?” or “This is his or her fault! Independent of individual perceptions, the logic of emotions provides a sequence for the natural failure culture. The emotions provide the impulse to act in order to do well.

If one deviates from the procedure, this experience (Fig.1: G) can have an aggravating, or even inhibiting, effect on learning (Fig.1: F). In the Emotion System of individuals, the learning experience cannot become firmly established and the culture of error is prevented not only by those who challenge it but also by those who would like to live it.

Change to a functional failure culture

Failure culture develops with DecisionMaking in a self-responsible and self-organized way. The design for the transformation process is created with agile procedures and KiE-DecisionMaking. The chance of stakeholders to get what they need increases. People begin to understand each other and work together more closely.

The DecisionMaking Processes can be used with the digitized DecisionMaker for both face-to-face and remote collaboration.

KiE-DecisionMaking Processes
Figure 2: KiE-DecisionMaking Processes

“Who has made a mistake and does not correct it, makes a second one.” Confucius

KiE DecisionMaking Seminars

More about KiE DecisionMaking on INeKO Institute at the University of Cologne

Master of DecisionMaking (4 days) starts on 13.Nov.2020

Practitioner of DecisionMaking (one day) starts on 30.Okt.2020

More: www.k-i-e.com/en.

Source

Graf, Richard: Die neue Entscheidungskultur: mit gemeinsam getragenen Entscheidungen zum Erfolg. Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG, 2018

Picture credits cover picture: Sportschau 23.08.2020. Available until 23.08.2021 ARD

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

328 Kern einer jeden Fehlerkultur ist es, Fehler wieder gutzumachen

„Wer einen Fehler gemacht hat und ihn nicht korrigiert, begeht einen zweiten.“ Konfuzius

Kern einer jeden Fehlerkultur ist es, aufgetretene Fehler zu korrigieren beziehungsweise wieder gutzumachen. Ebenso ist dieses Verhalten Kern des Erfolgs für Teams und Führungskräfte.

Erfolg im Fußball wie Erfolg im Unternehmen setzt eine funktionale Fehlerkultur voraus, die Thomas Müller, Bayern München (FCB) populär ausspricht: „Wir streiten uns eigentlich darum, wer den Fehler des anderen wieder gutmacht“. Natürlich sollte man nicht streiten, und Müller meint sicher die Bereitschaft und die Umsetzkompetenz, Fehler sofort zu korrigieren sowie zu heilen, wenn das nicht mehr möglich ist.

Fehler (Abb.1: A), die am Ende eines Entscheidungsprozesses stehen, fühlen sich unangenehm an. Das einschränkende Verhalten in Unternehmen entsteht vornehmlich daraus, diese unangenehmen Gefühle zu vermeiden. Da helfen auch nicht gut gemeinte Ratschläge: „Fehler zu machen“ oder „Fehler möglichst früh oder schnell zu machen“. Fehler, und der daraus entstehende emotionale Impuls,  zeigen nur an: wir sollten erneut handeln. Wer diesen Impuls missinterpretiert und ihm nicht folgt, um die Wirkungen zu korrigieren (Abb.1: A), begeht bereits einen zweiten Fehler, der den unangenehmen Effekt weiter verstärkt.

KiE: Design-Vorgabe einer Fehlerkultur
Abbildung 01: Design-Vorgabe einer Fehlerkultur

Handeln, auch Nicht-Handeln (Abb.1: 2), hat eine Wirkung (Abb.1: 3), die nie gänzlich zu kontrollieren ist. Tritt eine „erwünschte“ Wirkung ein, ist es ein Erfolg, verfehlt man sie, wird es zum Versagen. Kommt jemand zu schaden oder wird eine Norm überschritten, so war die vorausgegangene Entscheidung (Abb.1: 1) ein Fehler. Fehler sind dabei meist nur eine Bewertung der Wirkung des Handelns wie gut versus schlimm oder positiv versus negativ:  

  1. „gute“ Wirkung = Erfolg oder Glück, wenn sie unverhofft eintritt.
  2. „schlimme“ Wirkung = Fehler oder Pech, bei kleinem eigenen oder verleugnetem Beitrag

Die nicht gänzlich zu kontrollierende Wirkung entsteht aus der Handlung (Abb.1: 2). Jedoch schauen wir mehr auf die Entscheidung (Abb.1: 1), in der alle Emotionen wie Angst (Sorge um Sicherheit) bis hin zu Schuld und Scham (Zugehörigkeit durch Leistung) wirken. Werden Fehler wahrgenommen (Abb.1: A), wirken ebenfalls alle Grundemotionen im dysfunktionalen Bereich. Die Sorge um Sicherheit (Angst) sowie die Einflussnahme, einen Vorteil zu nutzen (Ärger), wurden verfehlt. Etwas oder jemand wurden beschädigt (Schuld) und man war nicht gut genug (Scham). Eine funktionale Fehlerkultur orientiert sich an dieser Emotionssequenz: 

  1. Den Fehler (Abb.1: F) wahrzunehmen und anzuerkennen (Abb.1 A) , ohne Wenn und Aber, als etwas, das geschehen und vorbei ist.
  2. Oft kann der Fehler korrigiert werden (Abb.1: B), worauf das Zitat von Müller hinweist. Wenn dies gelingt, ist alles gut und es bleiben nur die unangenehmen Gefühle, die noch zu regulieren wären. Danach sind der Einzelne und das gesamte Team wieder motiviert und handlungskompetent, auch um Fehler zu korrigieren.
  3. Gelingt es nicht, den Fehler zu korrigieren, ist ein „Schaden“ eingetreten. Hier ist nach der Wahrnehmung und Anerkennung (Abb.1: A) der Schaden zu mindern (Abb.1: C). Dabei ist mit demselben Engagement vorzugehen wie bei der Korrektur (Abb1: B). Im Sinn des Fußballspiels ist die Situation mit dem Tor für Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) eingetreten, als Thilo Kehrer (PSG) den Fehler machte und Kingsley Coman (FCB) das Tor einköpfte. Die PSG-Spieler waren danach nicht fähig, die Fehlerkultur konsequent umsetzen.

Für eine gelungene Fehlerkultur ist ein eingetretener Schaden ebenfalls mit Folgeschritten zu managen (Abb.1: D und E). Der „Schaden“ ist auszugleichen. Oft reicht ein „Tut mir leid“ oder ein entschuldigendes Handheben, was die Bayern immer wieder zeigten. So kann auch die Schuld mit einer anerkennenden Geste minimiert werden. Die quittierte gute Absicht entlastet den Verursacher und weist auf die gelungenen Prozesse bei der Entscheidung (Abb.1: 1) hin. Natürlich ist in formalen Geschäftsbeziehungen oft eine andere „Währung“ als Handheben gängig und formal notwendig, die Dynamik dahinter jedoch bleibt. Mit diesem Prozess entsteht die gewünschte Fehlerkultur und alle sind bereit, sich für den Erfolg wieder einzusetzen.

Die Fehlerkultur wird geschwächt, wenn die Diskussion der Schuldfrage vor der Korrektur (Abb.1: C vor B) und dem Ausgleich erfolgt. Die fast tumultartigen Rangeleien auf dem Spielfeld zeugen davon, die gelben Karten zeigen, wie dem Schlimmen Schlimmes hinzugefügt wird.

Oft gelingt der erste Schritt nicht, den Fehler anzuerkennen. Diese Vermeidung wirkt als großes Hemmnis (Abb.1: A‘), was sich im Verhalten bei Neymar in der zweiten Halbzeit immer mehr zeigte. Wenn es dann schief ging, halten dafür die Emotionen eine Lösung vor: Tränen der Trauer. Die Trauer gehört in den Erfahrungsprozess, der das Vergangene ablöst sowie Lernen möglich macht.

Fehlerkultur im Unternehmen

Im Unternehmen geht man von rationalen zumindest bewussten Entscheidungen aus. Im Fußball ist jedoch oft die Intuition (Abb.1: I) für den Erfolg notwendig, genauso wie im Management und der agilen Zusammenarbeit. Sie ist Kunst und Notwendigkeit zugleich (Link KiE-Intuition). Unabhängig davon, ob wir bewusst oder intuitiv entschieden haben, wird eine Wirkung entstehen (Abb.1: I, dann 2 und 3). Auch wenn wir die Wirkung günstig beeinflussen wollen, können wir unabhängig von der Art, wie wir entschieden haben, sie letztendlich nicht kontrollieren. Das ist Menschsein und macht Fußball sowie agile Zusammenarbeit wie Management und unser Leben aus.

Im Spannungsfeld zwischen beabsichtigter und „schlimmer“ Wirkung wirken vor allem Schuld und Scham, wenn ein Schaden entstanden ist und weil man es gut machen wollte. Gerade diese Emotionen sowie die Trauer sind in Unternehmen jedoch noch nicht hoffähig.

Unternehmen fordern Wissen, warum das Design der Fehlerkultur gemäß der Emotionen gewählt werden sollte, weil Menschen auch andere Impulse für ihr Verhalten verspüren: „Warum soll ich das machen?“ oder „Das ist doch ihre oder seine Schuld!“. Unabhängig von individuellen Empfindungen gibt die Emotionslogik jedoch eine Sequenz für die natürliche Fehlerkultur vor. Die Emotionen sind der Impuls zu handeln, um es gut zu machen.

Weicht man von der Vorgehensweise ab, wirkt es sich fatal beziehungsweis erschwerend auf das Lernen (Abb.1: G) durch diese Erfahrungen (Abb.1: F) aus. Im Emotionssystem der Individuen kann sich die Lernerfahrung nicht verfestigen und die Fehlerkultur wird von denen verhindert, die sie fordern und auch von denen, die sie gerne leben möchten.

Change zur funktionalen Fehlerkultur

Fehlerkultur entwickelt sich mit DecisionMaking selbstverantwortlich und selbstorganisiert. Das Design für den Transformationsprozess geschieht mit agilen Vorgehen und KiE-DecisionMaking. Die Chance der Stakeholder zu erhalten, was sie brauchen, steigt. Die Menschen beginnen, sich gegenseitig zu verstehen und enger zusammenzuarbeiten.

Die DecisionMaking-Prozesse sind mit dem digitalisierten DecisionMaker sowohl für Präsenz- als auch für Remote Collaboration zu verwenden.

KiE-DecisionMaking Prozesse
Abbildung 02: KiE-DecisionMaking Prozesse

_______________

August 2020, Richard Graf und Elsa Graf

Wer einen Fehler gemacht hat und ihn nicht korrigiert, begeht einen zweiten.“ Konfuzius

Quellen

Graf, Richard: Die neue Entscheidungskultur: mit gemeinsam getragenen Entscheidungen zum Erfolg. Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG, 2018

Bildnachweis Titelbild: Sportschau 23.08.2020. Verfügbar bis 23.08.2021 ARD

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here