303 Remote Learning with DecisionMaking Processes

In remote events people are usually not very involved and often get sprinkled. Some participants lose track and have no chance to understand the topics that are based on them. Dealing with an unknown learning success is extremely difficult for the trainers. They usually repeat what they have already said and tire the participants even more. A common level can be reached if everyone speaks at the same time to understand a topic.

The current crisis is forcing us to remotely collaborate and is making digitalization even faster. The shortcomings in bringing about a common understanding or joint decisions, which were already apparent before the crisis, are intensified in digital collaboration and significantly limit the possibilities with remote collaboration tools. Employees complain about hours of video conferencing, while students stagnate in online lectures. This makes it all even more important to offer e-learning solutions that create interaction between participants and the instructor and ensure collaborative learning.

Everyone gets a chance to have their say at the same time

The rule that only one person speaks at a time is intensified in online events. Participants are requested to switch to “mute” so that only one person can speak. The features in the collaboration tools also bear witness to this destructive restriction, which prevents joint learning and interaction.

Of course, several participants cannot speak at the same time, otherwise the noise and confusion would be enormous. With the remote DecisionMaker, all participants can speak at the same time and everyone’s opinion becomes visible to everyone. 

Everyone speaks at the same time
Figure 01: Everyone speaks at the same time

Only for 36% of the participants scientific work is important. For the majority of 64% it is moderately important and for no one (0%) it is unimportant.

Establish understanding

The learning process is adapted to the brain architecture, the inseparability of emotions, intuition and cognition, the KiE Trilogy. The understanding of one topic must be established before moving on to the next, otherwise you will lose participants. To struggle through not understanding a topic is a simple decision.

The question is how far the last topic was understood. With the DecisionMaker, which has aspects of gamification, it is clearly visible where the students stand with their know-how.

Lecturers no longer have to read from the students’ faces what they think, but see the previous understanding as a clear KiE number. It is only in relation to this assessment figure that trainers as well as participants recognize how much the participants would need in order to follow. Those who prefer analog can also use the KiE cards.

KiE - Understanding with DecisionMaker
Figure 02: Understanding with DecisionMaker

It is now clear to everyone that two participants need support to be able to continue following. In this example, the trainer knows that three quarters of the participants have already reached the learning goal and can then plan his or her approach.

Resource Question

The first step is not enough: “I haven’t understood it yet”, so the trainer would have to consider what the participant is missing. The participant has the knowledge of what he has already understood and what he would still need to understand a topic.

The Resource Question is asked: “What do you need to go from understanding (7) to understanding (8)? The responsibility is rotated and the participant is given the competence to identify what else he needs. The trainer gets the chance to do it well. He can plan his attention for the one quarter of the participants and include the knowing three quarters for support. This way of learning is unfamiliar at the beginning, but is very quickly rewarded with the joint learning success. The DecisionMaker works anonymously so that the students can enter on their own responsibility without shame what they still need to understand.

The persons in need ask themselves what else they need. Then, with the resources of all, understanding is created together, without continuing to bombard all students with something you don’t know if they are interested in.

Resourcen Question in DecisionMaker - KiE
Figure 03: Resourcen Question in DecisionMaker

WeQuality Process: The WeQuality Process is used to evaluate the students’ answers. Here too, evaluation is done first and then the thought is given to what else is needed. The resources of the whole team are activated to let the answer mature to a higher quality together. The students who already know more give impulses as to what else is needed to complete the answer.

The feedback also represents a quality process. Here, too, the KiE Scale and the following Resource Question are suitable for further improving the courses.

Recommendation rate as internal quality assurance

At the end, the INeKO Institute uses the Net Promoter Score (NPS), which can be displayed on the KiE Scale.

KiE - NPS in DecisionMaker
Figure 04: NPS in DecisionMaker

The NPS has undisputedly become an important metric for measuring customer satisfaction worldwide and has been learned as the KiE Scale NPS. Finally, the recommendation rate of DecisionMaking is always performed anonymously with the remote DecisionMaker. This eliminates any anchor effects and influence from participants and trainers.

Practioner of DecisionMaking

As further main topics the following DecisionMaking Processes will be discussed.

Prioritization Process: Students learn to prioritize in a playful way by evaluating and prioritizing the given teaching topics. Especially for managers and agile teams, prioritization is part of everyday business.

Commitment Process: After prioritization comes commitment to bring about a jointly supported decision.

In the DecisionMaking seminars at the INeKO Institute at the university of cologne , students learned about DecisionMaking Processes in theory by directly applying them on a workshop day. The DecisionMaking Processes can be combined with each other and thus be adapted to different decision situations – from the maturity of quality, to prioritization, to the Commitment Process.

KiE-DecisionMaking Prozesse
Abbildung 05: KiE-DecisionMaking Prozesse

Learning with joy

The high level of interaction with the KiE-DecisionMaking Processes and the online DecisionMaker makes learning fun. Both students and practitioners feel at eye level, understood in their needs and actively involved. This creates a pleasant and refreshing learning atmosphere.

Aligned to the human decision process, the participants first evaluate the topics and then search for the resources they need. The previous evaluation also shows whether others can answer the questions. The knowledge deepens for everyone, with question posers, answerers, trainers and listeners learning together.

The teaching material is structured according to the agile-way-of-working in stories in a Kanban board. Each learning block is followed by an exercise in small groups. The focus is on transfer tasks that encourage students to integrate basic knowledge, tools and processes into their everyday work and to apply them at home. Learning for practice.

The Practitioners of DecisionMaking were enthusiastic about the way the knowledge is transferred and the content learned. The certificates of achievement showed the development as an individual and as a group, which was a joy to experience for all participants. The equality of all in this high level of interaction should be emphasized, as the feedback of one participant illustrates: “The interaction and responding to all questions led to a better understanding”.

KiE - Success in learning
Figure 06: Success in learning

Remote learning is possible

Through the DecisionMaking Processes and the DecisionMaker, participants were always integrated into the learning process at eye level. The methods can be applied both remotely and together in the group. The participants were enthusiastic:

“I didn’t think of anything else during these 8 hours because it was so interesting. I usually play games on my smartphone or edit my e-mails”.

_______________

Oktober 2020, Elsa Graf Dual Student HWTK University and KiE Labs. Inc. Mountain View, California (Silicon Valley)

The learning process was very different. There was no bulimic learning, we learned together.” Participant of the Practitioner of DecisionMaking Seminar

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

303 Remote Lernen mit DecisionMaking-Prozessen

In remote Veranstaltungen wird man meist wenig beteiligt und lässt sich oft berieseln. Manche Teilnehmer verlieren den Anschluss und habe dann keine Chance mehr, die darauf aufbauenden Themen zu verstehen. Mit einem unbekannten Lernerfolg umzugehen, ist äußerst schwierig für die Trainer. Meist wiederholen sie das, was sie bereits gesagt habe und ermüden die Teilnehmer noch mehr. Ein gemeinsames Level kann erreicht werden, wenn gleichzeitig alle zu Wort kommen, um ein Thema zu verstehen.

Die aktuelle Krise zwingt uns zu remote Collaboration und lässt die Digitalisierung noch schneller voranschreiten. Die bereits vor der Krise offensichtlichen Mängel, ein gemeinsames Verständnis bzw. gemeinsame Entscheidungen herbeizuführen, verstärken sich im digitalen Miteinander und schränken die Möglichkeiten mit remote Collaboration-Tools erheblich ein. Mitarbeiter beschweren sich über stundenlange Videokonferenzen, während Studierende in Onlinevorlesungen verkümmern. Umso wichtiger ist es, Lösungen für E-Learning zu anzubieten, die eine Interaktion zwischen Teilnehmern und dem Dozenten herbeiführen sowie gemeinsames Lernen sicherstellen.

Alle kommen gleichzeitig zu Wort

Die Regel, es spricht immer nur einer, verschärft sich in online Events. Die Teilnehmer werden aufgefordert, sich auf „stumm“ („mute“) zu schalten, damit nur einer sprechen kann. Auch die Features in den Collaboration-Tools zeugen von dieser zerstörenden Einschränkung, die gemeinsames Lernen und Interaktion verhindert.

Natürlich können nicht mehrere Teilnehmer gleichzeitig sprechen, sonst wäre der Lärm und die Verwirrung groß. Mit dem remote DecisionMaker kommen alle Teilnehmer gleichzeitig zu Wort und es wird die Meinung aller für jeden sichtbar. 

KiE - Alle kommen gleichzeitig zu Wort
Abbildung 01: Alle kommen gleichzeitig zu Wort

Nur für 36% der Teilnehmer ist wissenschaftliches Arbeiten wicht. Für die die Mehrheit von 64% ist es moderat wichtig und für niemanden (0%) ist es unwichtig.

Verständnis herstellen

Der Lernprozess wird der Gehirnarchitektur angepasst, der Untrennbarkeit von Emotionen, Intuition und Kognition, der KiE-Trilogie. Das Verständnis zu einem Thema muss hergestellt sein, bevor man zum nächsten übergehen kann, sonst verliert man Teilnehmer. Sich durchzuringen, ein Thema nicht verstanden zu haben, ist eine einfach Entscheidung.

So wird abgefragt, wie weit das letzte Thema verstanden wurde. Mit dem DecisionMaker, der Aspekte von Gamification hat, wird klar sichtbar, wo die Studenten mit Ihrem Know-how stehen.

Dozenten müssen nicht mehr aus den Gesichtern der Studenten lesen, was sie wohl denken, sondern sehen das bisherige Verständnis es an einer klaren KiE-Zahl. Erst in Abhängigkeit dieser Bewertungskennzahl, erkennen Trainer sowie Teilnehmer, wieviel die Teilnehmer bräuchten, damit sie folgen könnten. Wer es lieber analog mag, kann auch die KiE-Karten benutzen.

KiE - Verständnis mit DecisionMaker
Abbildung 02: Verständnis mit DecisionMaker

Für alle ist nun sichtbar, dass zwei Teilnehmer Unterstützung brauchen, um weiter folgen zu können. Der Trainer, weiß bei diesem Beispiel, dass bereits Dreiviertel der Teilnehmer das Lernziel erreicht haben und kann daraufhin sein Vorgehen planen.

Ressourcen-Frage

Im ersten Schritt reicht kein: „Ich habe das noch nicht verstanden.“, sodass der Trainer überlegen müsste, was dem Teilnehmer fehlt. Der Teilnehmer verfügt über das Wissen, was er bereits verstanden hat und was er noch bräuchte, damit er ein Thema versteht.

Es wird die Ressourcen-Frage gestellt: „Was brauchst Du, um vom Verständnis (7) auf ein Verständnis von (8) zu können?. Die Verantwortung gedreht und dem Teilnehmer wird die Kompetenz gegeben, das zu identifizieren, was er noch bräuchte. Der Trainer bekommt die Chance, es gut zu machen. Er kann seine Zuwendung für das eine Viertel der Teilnehmer planen und das wissende Dreiviertel für die Unterstützung einbeziehen. Diese Art des Lernens ist anfangs ungewohnt, wird jedoch sehr schnell mit dem gemeinsamen Lernerfolg belohnt. Der DecisionMaker arbeitet anonym, sodass die Studenten eigenverantwortlich ohne Scham eintragen können, was sie für ihr Verständnis noch bräuchten.

Die Bedürftigen fragen sich selbst, was sie noch bräuchten. Anschließend wird mit den Ressourcen aller, das Verständnis gemeinsam hergestellt, ohne alle Studenten weiter zu beschallen mit etwas, wovon man nicht weiß, ob es sie interessiert.

Güteprozess: Mit dem Güteprozess werden die Antworten der Studenten bewertet. Auch hier wird zuerst bewertet und dann nachgedacht, was es noch braucht. Die Ressourcen des gesamten Teams werden aktiviert, um die Antwort gemeinsam zu einer höheren Güte reifen zu lassen. Die Studenten, die schon mehr wissen, geben Anstöße, was es noch braucht, um die Antwort zu vervollständigen.

Auch das Feedback stellt einen Güteprozess dar. Auch hier eignet sich die KiE-Skala und die darauf folgende Ressourcenfrage, um die Lehrveranstaltungen noch weiter zu verbessern.

Weiterempfehlungsrate als interne Qualitätssicherung

Zum Abschluss wird im INeKO-Institut der Net Promoter Score (NPS) verwendet, der sich auf der KiE-Skala abbilden lässt.

KiE NPS im DecisionMaker
Abbildung 01: NPS im DecisionMaker

Der NPS wurde unbestritten weltweit eine wichtige Metrik für die Messung der Kundenzufriedenheit und als KiE-Skala NPS erlernt. Zum Abschluss wird die Empfehlungsrate von DecisionMaking immer mit dem remote DecisionMaker anonym durchgeführt. So werden jegliche Ankereffekte und Beeinflussung seitens Teilnehmer und Trainer ausgeschlossen.

Practioner of DecisionMaking

Als weitere Schwerpunkte wird auf folgende DecisionMaking-Prozesse eingegangen.

Priorisierungsprozess: Die Studenten lernen spielerisch zu priorisieren, indem sie die vorgegebenen Lehrthemen bewerten und priorisieren. Insbesondere für Führungskräfte und agile Teams ist die Priorisierung Alltagsgeschäft.

Commitment-Prozess: Nach der Priorisierung folgt das Commitment, um eine gemeinsam getragene Entscheidung, herbeiführen.

In den DecisionMaking Seminaren am INeKO Institut an der Universität lernten die Studenten an einem Workshop-Tag, die DecisionMaking Prozesse in ihrer Theorie kennen, indem sie diese direkt anwandten. Die Entscheidungsprozesse lassen sich untereinander kombinieren und so auf unterschiedliche Entscheidungssituationen hin anpassen – von der Reife der Güte, über die Priorisierung bis hin zum Commitment Prozess.

KiE-DecisionMaking Prozesse
Abbildung 05: KiE-DecisionMaking Prozesse

Lernen mit Freude

Durch die hohe Interaktion mit den KiE-DecisionMaking-Prozessen und dem online DecisionMaker entsteht Freude beim Lernen. Die Studenten wie auch Praktiker fühlen sich auf Augenhöhe, in ihren Nöten verstanden und aktiv mit einbezogen. Auf dieser Basis entsteht eine angenehme und erfrischende Lernatmosphäre.

Ausgerichtet am menschlichen Entscheidungsprozess, bewerten die Teilnehmer die Themen zuerst und suchen dann nach den Ressourcen, die sie brauchen. Durch die vorherige Bewertung zeigt sich auch, ob andere die Fragen beantworten können. Das Wissen vertieft sich für alle, bei Fragensteller, Antwortenden, Trainer sowie Zuhörern findet gemeinsames Lernen statt.

Der Lehrstoff wird nach dem Agile-Way-of-Working in Stories in einem Kanban-Board strukturiert. Auf jeden Lernblock folgt eine Übung in Kleingruppen. Der Fokus liegt auf Transferaufgaben, die die Studenten dazu anregen Grundlagenwissen, Tools und Prozesse in Ihren Arbeitsalltag zu integrieren und zu Hause anzuwenden. Lernen für die Praxis.

Die Practitioner of DecisionMaking waren, von der der Art der Wissensvermittlung und den gelernten Inhalten begeistert. Die Leistungsnachweise zeigten die Entwicklung als Individuum und als Gruppe, das war für alle Beteiligten mit Freude zu erleben. Hervorzuheben ist die Gleichstellung aller in dieser hohen Interaktion, die das Feedback eines Teilnehmers verdeutlicht: „Die Interaktion und das Eingehen auf alle Fragen führte zum besseren Verständnis.“

KiE - Lernerfolg
Abbildung 06: Lernerfolg

Remote Lernen ist möglich

Durch die DecisionMaking-Prozesse und den DecisionMaker waren die Teilnehmer stets auf Augenhöhe in den Lernprozess integriert. Die Methoden lassen sich sowohl remote als auch gemeinsam in der Gruppe anwenden. Die Teilnehmer waren begeistert:

“Ich habe in diesen 8 Stunden keinen anderen Gedanken gedacht, weil es so interessant war. Normalerweise spiele ich auf dem Smartphone oder bearbeite meine E-Mails.”

Quelle

GRAF, Richard. „Die neue Entscheidungskultur: Mit gemeinsam getragenen Entscheidungen zum Erfolg“. Carl Hanser Verlag München 2018.

_______________

Oktober 2020, Elsa Graf Dual Student HWTK University and KiE Labs. Inc. Mountain View, California (Silicon Valley)

Der Lernprozess war ganz anders. Es gab kein Bulimie-Lernen, wir haben gemeinsam gelernt.“ Teilnehmerin am Practitioner of DecisionMaking Seminar

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here